AGP58 collects works by Pauline Oliveros, Lucia Dlugoszewski, Ben Johnston, and Toshi Ichyanagi from five LPs released by American labels in the 1970s. Oliveros is represented by a live electronic composition (I of IV) a choral work (Sound Patterns) and a work for flute, percussion, and string bass (Outline). The two compositions by Dlugoszewski are for chamber ensembles. Ben Johnston's Casta Bertram is for string bass and other nonsense (see notes), and was discovered in my stacks after the release of AGP9. Ichyanagi's Extended Voices is from an Odyssey LP of that name that also features John Cage's Solos for Voice 2 from AGP56 and Oliveros' Sound Patterns. The other compositions on that LP are all available on CD.

Two of the works in AGP58 have been released on CD but are now out of print. These tracks were transcribed from LPs that are in excellent condition, but there are varying levels of pressing noise. While I would describe the pressing noise as only light on most tracks, it is clearly audible in the quietest passages, and there is more such noise than on the last several AGP releases. The installment includes a text file containing notes from the five LPs from which these works were transcribed.

To download AGP58 files, right-click on each of the following links and select SAVE LINK AS.

01 - Oliveros, I of IV [20:34]

02 - Oliveros, Sound Patterns [4:04]

03 - Oliveros, Outline [14:25]

04 - Johnston, Casta Bertram [10:46]

05 - Dlugoszewski, Fire Fragile Flight [8:32]

06 - Dlugoszewski, Angels of the Inmost Heaven [8:25]

07 - Ichyanagi, Extended Voices [11:14]

Liner notes from LP

AGP58 description

FLAC fingerprints